Search for keywords, pages, people

Stephen Child

Chair of Design, Associate Professor (Teaching), Design

Stephen Child is a graphic designer and artist. He received his BFA from Tyler School of Art in Philadelphia and an MFA in painting and drawing at Indiana University. He gained his digital expertise from Art Center College of Design and comes to the Academy from the Roski School of Art and Design, where he taught for 12 years.
Steve has worked as a designer and art director for a wide variety of industries and clients. He began as a junior designer in health care advertising and then moved on to the entertainment agencies BLT & Associates, Paramount Pictures, DZN the Design Group, and 2G Studios, eventually becoming creative director for his own firm Steve Child Design, whose clients included major music and entertainment studios and cultural institutions such as UC Irvine; AIGA: The Professional Association for Design; The Center for the Study of Political Graphics; and Deer Park Monastery, the west coast retreat center in the tradition of Thich Nhat Hanh, Zen monk and author.

Steve enjoys working with students to create real-world projects. In 2015 he collaborated with the USC architecture and film schools to create the visual identity, data visualization graphics and interactive tables for 6 under 60, an exhibit for Urbanism/Architecture Biennale in Shenzhen, China. He also organized and co-curated the design show Pushing the Press: The Typecraft Design Library at the A+D Museum (Architecture and Design), in downtown Los Angeles. The exhibit featured over 700 works of graphic design from Los Angeles and around the world printed by Typecraft Press in the last 20 years. A class of students produced the shows exhibit design and all promotional graphics. His interview about the show can be found in Communication Arts magazine, September of 2017.

Last spring, Adobe invited him to be a featured speaker at the SXSW EDU Conference in Austin, Texas. His talk, “Cultivating Creativity in the Classroom”, was an in-depth look at the truths and myths about creativity, the stages of the creative problem-solving process, and concrete practical techniques to inspire creativity in educational disciplines.

At the USC Iovine and Young Academy, he teaches Discerning and Making, Innovator’s Forum and The Practice of Design: Ideation to Iteration. At USC’s Roski School of Art and Design, he taught upper division Design II, III, and IV classes, Professional Practices, Senior Portfolio, Typography, and Digital Tools. He continues to freelance and show his fine arts work, which is a combination of collage, drawing, text, painting and digital imagery.


Courses Taught

Digital Toolbox for Design

An eight-week session covering the basics of industry-standard creative, analytical and presentation software. Applications include: design, presentation, publishing and business management. Open only to Academy students.